Facebook admits secretly deleting Mark Zuckerberg's messages

Ajustar Comentario Impresión

The social media platform's head informed users of a new tool his company has built recently "that lets anyone see all of the ads a page is running". In its response, Facebook has asserted that it had "at no time" agreed to Cambridge Analytica's use of any user data - including those in India.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, in charge of protecting privacy rights of individuals, said in a statement that it would investigate, along with their counterpart in British Columbia, whether Facebook and AggregateIQ gave unauthorised access to users' Facebook data.

"That was something we should have caught, we should have known about", she told NPR. TechCrunch says it viewed an email receipt of a Facebook message from 2010 that proves they are telling the truth, as the messages contained in the email no longer where able to be viewed the sources' chat logs.

"We're doing an investigation, we're going to do audits and yes, we think it's possible, that's why we're doing the audit", she said.

"The company said it would extend requirements issued in October that required political advertisements on Facebook and Instagram to be authorized to include "...

Facebook is working to strengthen its system ahead of this year's USA midterm elections and other elections around the world.

In addition, these ads will be clearly labelled in the top left corner as "Political Ad".

Today, we're also announcing that people who manage Pages with large numbers of followers will need to be verified.

The company disclosed in September that Russians using fake names had used the social network to try to influence USA voters in the months before and after the 2016 election.

It comes after online technology news publisher TechCrunch reported Facebook has been secretly deleting some messages its CEO Mark Zuckerberg sent through its Messenger application.

Want to delete that embarrassing message you just sent? A user can simply press down on the message they wish to eradicate and select "unsend;" the recipient will not be alerted if this happens.

Facebook first acknowledged last month that personal information about millions of users wrongly ended up in the hands of Cambridge Analytica. The Sony messages included disparaging remarks about movie stars and other people in the entertainment industry. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer - and have their messages automatically deleted.

Well, this incident raises a lot of questions over Facebook's ethics and how much it honors transparency with its users.

Comentarios