WhatsApp is introducing a feature which lets you delete messages you've already sent to friends or groups. With this feature, you will be able to remove messages you sent from a conversation not only from your end but also from the recipient's phone.
After months of rumours and anticipation, WhatsApp developers on Friday, October 27 started to push the feature that lets users recall sent messages. The feature has been in news for almost a year now.
We have asked few legal experts on this issue, and will update you as soon as we get some answers. Also the texts contained in the quoted messages can not be deleted. The feature will not work on phones with Symbian OS. The report notes that recipients should have the latest version of WhatsApp app for the feature to work. WABetaInfo, a platform that sends out news related to Whatsapp beta versions had first indicated about the rollout.
MailOnline has contacted WhatsApp for more information on when the feature will be available globally.
This applies to text messages, gifs, video, pictures... pretty much anything you can send on WhatsApp, however it must be done within seven minutes of sending the message. Once the message has been deleted a user will see "this message has been deleted" in place of the message.
"If you miss that short window, there's no way to recall the message". Or he or she may take a screenshot.
There's also no built-in mechanism to notify you if deleting for everyone failed for any reason.
Delete for Everyone will be visible alongside a new Delete for Me choice which is presumably the same as the earlier Delete option. Otherwise, you can probably delete the message and safely know it wasn't seen.
The message was sent before 7 minutes.
Deleting sent messages is applicable to all recipients. You can also revoke multiple messages at once.
I've tested this with Artem who's running the latest beta as well, and even though he can't delete messages for everyone just yet, deletion worked on his end as a recipient.